15 Best Smart Plugs for Lamps in 2027
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

The Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP10P2 is my best overall pick for lamps, balancing a compact design with 15A capacity and a practical two-pack. For homes built around newer smart-home standards, the Linkind Matter Smart Plug four-pack stands out for broader platform flexibility, while the Amazon Smart Plug is a straightforward choice for Alexa users. The main tradeoffs are how much setup you’re willing to do, whether you need compatibility beyond one voice assistant, and how many outlets you want to control. Some plugs offer simple remote switching; others bring app schedules, timers, or broader ecosystem support. Read on for how all 15 options compare and which one fits your lamp setup.

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get home appliances delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
15
compared
7
brands
4
certifications
Which smart plugs for lamp should you buy?
★ Top Pick
Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP1
Best Overall for Everyday Lamp Automation
Compact form leaves the adjacent outlet available.
See on Amazon →
Lamp owners who want Alexa or Google voice control and the option to manage plugs through GHome, Smart Life, or Tuya.
GHome Smart Plug
Supports voice control through Alexa and Google Assistant.
View on Amazon →
People who want to switch lamps on and off by remote without Wi-Fi, app setup, or a voice assistant.
Syantek Wireless Remote Contro
Controls three outlets with one included remote.
View on Amazon →
SmartThings households that want to automate lamps across multiple rooms using one four-plug set.
EIGHTREE Wi-Fi Smart Plug
Four plugs suit lamp automation across several rooms.
View on Amazon →
Govee Home users who want to group several lamps and schedule them together through Alexa or Google Assistant.
Govee Smart WiFi Plugs
Four plugs support lamp control in multiple rooms.
View on Amazon →
Pros & cons at a glance
GHome Smart Plug
✓ Supports voice control through Alexa and Google Assistant.
✗ Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network.
Syantek Wireless Remote Contro
✓ Controls three outlets with one included remote.
✗ Does not provide app control, scheduling, or voice-assistant integration.
EIGHTREE Wi-Fi Smart Plug
✓ Four plugs suit lamp automation across several rooms.
✗ Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only.
Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP1
✓ Compact form leaves the adjacent outlet available.
✗ Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connection.
Govee Smart WiFi Plugs
✓ Four plugs support lamp control in multiple rooms.
✗ Does not support 5 GHz Wi-Fi.
GHome Smart Plug Mini
✓ Four plugs make it practical to automate lamps in several rooms
✗ 1,200 W maximum is lower than the 1,800 W capacity of several alternatives
GHome Smart Plug
✓ Four plugs can cover lamps across multiple rooms
✗ 1,200 W maximum is below the 1,800 W capacity of the Kasa HS103P4 and Linkind Matter plug
Linkind Matter Smart Plug
✓ Matter support spans several major smart-home platforms
✗ Most supported platforms require a Matter-certified hub or controller
Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP1
✓ Compact design leaves the neighboring outlet accessible
✗ Package contains one plug, unlike the GHome and Kasa four-packs
Kasa Smart Plug HS103P4
✓ Four plugs provide broad lamp coverage around the home
✗ Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP1
✓ Four plugs make it practical to automate lamps in multiple rooms
✗ Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network
Amazon Basics Smart Plug with
✓ Two plugs suit a pair of lamps without buying a larger set
✗ Works with Alexa only
Amazon Basics Smart Plug
✓ Four plugs cover multiple lamps around the home
✗ Works with Alexa only
GHome Smart Plug with Wi-Fi an
✓ Supports Alexa and Google Assistant
✗ Must be set up through the GHome app before linking a voice assistant
Amazon Smart Plug
✓ Alexa app supports voice control, routines, timers, and schedules
✗ Works only with Alexa

Complete the kit

Bluevua Official RO100ROPOT 1-Year Replacement Filter Set
Bluevua Official RO100ROPOT 1-Year Replacement Filter Set
Add to your setup →
Bluevua Official 5-IN-1 RO Filter
Bluevua Official 5-IN-1 RO Filter
Add to your setup →
Bluevua Official RO100ROPOT 4-Pack Replacement Filter Set
Bluevua Official RO100ROPOT 4-Pack Replacement Filter Set
Add to your setup →

Key Takeaways

  • The amazon.com/dp/B0CL9D9HM4?tag=timerone-20&ascsubtag=dc-1279571″ target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow sponsored noopener”>amazon.com/dp/B0CL9CG87N?tag=timerone-20&ascsubtag=dc-1279571″ target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow sponsored noopener”>amazon.com/dp/B091FXQQMQ?tag=timerone-20&ascsubtag=dc-1279571″ target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow sponsored noopener”>Kasa EP10P2 is the strongest all-around lamp pick: its compact format and 15A rating suit everyday use, while the two-pack covers a common living-room or bedside setup.
  • Linkind’s Matter four-pack is the standout for mixed smart-home platforms: it prioritizes cross-platform flexibility, unlike Alexa-focused Amazon Basics models.
  • Multipacks make the most sense when you have several lamps: EIGHTREE, Govee, GHome, Linkind, and Kasa all offer four-plug options, but their platform support and setup approach differ.
  • Voice-assistant preference narrows the field quickly: Amazon Smart Plug and Amazon Basics focus on Alexa, while several GHome, Kasa, and Govee options also support Google Assistant.
  • A remote-control kit is a different kind of solution: Syantek’s three outlets and handheld remote avoid app setup, but it lacks the connected scheduling and voice-control approach of Wi-Fi plugs.
2
Syantek Wireless Remote Contro
Best for Wi-Fi-Free Lamp Control
1
GHome Smart Plug
Best for Flexible App Choice
3
EIGHTREE Wi-Fi Smart Plug
Best Four-Pack for SmartThings Homes

Our Top Smart Plugs For Lamps Picks

GHome Smart Plug, 2-Pack, Wi-Fi, Works with Alexa and Google HomeGHome Smart Plug, 2-Pack, Wi-Fi, Works with Alexa and Google HomeBest for Flexible App ChoicePack count: 2Connectivity: 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; Bluetooth supportedCompatible assistants: Alexa, Google AssistantVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Syantek Wireless Remote Control Outlet Kit, 3 Outlets and 1 RemoteSyantek Wireless Remote Control Outlet Kit, 3 Outlets and 1 RemoteBest for Wi-Fi-Free Lamp ControlOutlets: 3Remotes: 1Range: Up to 100 ft line of sightVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
EIGHTREE Wi-Fi Smart Plug, 15A, 4-PackEIGHTREE Wi-Fi Smart Plug, 15A, 4-PackBest Four-Pack for SmartThings HomesPack size: 4Connectivity: 2.4 GHz Wi-FiCompatible platforms: Alexa, Google Assistant, SmartThingsVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP10P2, 15A, 2-PackKasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP10P2, 15A, 2-PackBest Overall for Everyday Lamp AutomationPackage quantity: 2 smart plugsMaximum current: 15 AMaximum wattage: 1800 WVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Govee Smart WiFi Plugs, 4-Pack, Compatible with Alexa and Google AssistantGovee Smart WiFi Plugs, 4-Pack, Compatible with Alexa and Google AssistantBest for Grouping Lamps in the Govee AppQuantity: 4 plugsModel: B5081Connectivity: Bluetooth and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; does not support 5 GHz Wi-FiVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
GHome Smart Plug Mini, Wi-Fi, 4-PackGHome Smart Plug Mini, Wi-Fi, 4-PackBest Value for Multiple LampsPack size: 4 plugsWireless network: 2.4 GHz Wi-FiVoice assistants: Alexa, Google AssistantVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
GHome Smart Plug, 4-PackGHome Smart Plug, 4-PackBest for Flexible App ChoicePack size: 4 plugsConnectivity: 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; Bluetooth or Wi-Fi setupApp compatibility: GHome, Smart Life, TuyaVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Linkind Matter Smart Plug, 4-PackLinkind Matter Smart Plug, 4-PackBest for Matter Smart HomesPack size: 4 plugsSmart-home standard: MatterWi-Fi: 2.4 GHzVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP10, 15AKasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP10, 15ABest Single-Plug PickModel: EP10Package contents: 1 smart plugMaximum current: 15 AVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Kasa Smart Plug HS103P4, 4-Pack, 15A Wi-Fi OutletKasa Smart Plug HS103P4, 4-Pack, 15A Wi-Fi OutletBest Four-Pack for Higher CapacityModel: HS103P4Pack size: 4 plugsOperating voltage: 120 V ACVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP10P4, 4-PackKasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP10P4, 4-PackBest for Multi-Room Lamp SetupsModel: EP10P4Pack size: 4 plugsMaximum current: 15 AVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Amazon Basics Smart Plug with Timer and Alexa Voice Control, 2-PackAmazon Basics Smart Plug with Timer and Alexa Voice Control, 2-PackBest Value for Alexa Lamp PairsQuantity: 2 smart plugsModel: HPP-A11S-WB-2PWi-Fi: 2.4 GHzVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Amazon Basics Smart Plug, Alexa-Compatible, 4-Pack, WhiteAmazon Basics Smart Plug, Alexa-Compatible, 4-Pack, WhiteBest Alexa-Only Four-PackPack size: 4 plugsCompatibility: Alexa onlyWi-Fi: 2.4 GHzVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
GHome Smart Plug with Wi-Fi and BluetoothGHome Smart Plug with Wi-Fi and BluetoothBest for Flexible App and Setup OptionsModel: WP3Connectivity: 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and BluetoothVoice assistants: Amazon Alexa and Google AssistantVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Amazon Smart PlugAmazon Smart PlugBest for a Single Alexa-Controlled LampInput: 120 VAC, 60 Hz, 15 A maxMaximum output: 15 AWi-Fi: 2.4 GHz, 802.11 b/g/nVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Specs at a glance
smart plugs for lampConnectivityCertificationsOperating voltage
GHome Smart Plug2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; Bluetooth supportedETL, FCC120 V
Syantek Wireless Remote Contro—ETL and FCC listed—
EIGHTREE Wi-Fi Smart Plug2.4 GHz Wi-Fi—120 V
Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP12.4 GHz Wi-FiUL, RoHS, FCC, IC120 V AC
Govee Smart WiFi PlugsBluetooth and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; does not support 5 GHz Wi-FiETL, FCC—
GHome Smart Plug Mini—ETL, FCC—
GHome Smart Plug2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; Bluetooth or Wi-Fi setupETL, FCC120 V
Linkind Matter Smart Plug—FCC, ETL—
Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP12.4 GHz Wi-FiUL, RoHS, FCC, IC120 V AC
Kasa Smart Plug HS103P42.4 GHz Wi-Fi—120 V AC
Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP12.4 GHz Wi-Fi—120 V
Amazon Basics Smart Plug with ———
Amazon Basics Smart Plug———
GHome Smart Plug with Wi-Fi an2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and BluetoothETL, FCC120 V
Amazon Smart Plug———

More Details on Our Top Picks

  1. GHome Smart Plug, 2-Pack, Wi-Fi, Works with Alexa and Google Home

    GHome Smart Plug, 2-Pack, Wi-Fi, Works with Alexa and Google Home

    Best for Flexible App Choice

    View Latest Price

    For lamp owners who want scheduling and voice control without committing to a single app ecosystem, I’d put the GHome two-pack near the top of the shortlist. It supports Alexa and Google Assistant and can be managed through GHome, Smart Life, or Tuya, giving it more app options than the Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP10P2. Schedules and timers can make a floor or bedside lamp operate on a routine, while remote control is useful when you’re away from home. The tradeoff is setup: you must start in the GHome app before linking a voice assistant, and the plug needs 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. Its 1200 W rating is also lower than the 1800 W rating of several alternatives, so I’d reserve it for lamps and other modest loads.

    Pros:
    • Supports voice control through Alexa and Google Assistant.
    • Offers remote control, schedules, and timers for lamp routines.
    • Compatible with GHome, Smart Life, and Tuya apps.
    • Two plugs are included, with no hub required.
    Cons:
    • Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network.
    • Must be set up through the GHome app before connecting to a voice assistant.
    • Its 1200 W rating is lower than the 1800 W rating listed for the Kasa EP10P2 and EIGHTREE plugs.

    Best for: Lamp owners who want Alexa or Google voice control and the option to manage plugs through GHome, Smart Life, or Tuya.

    Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a plug with a higher stated wattage limit or a setup path that skips the GHome app.

    • Pack count:2
    • Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; Bluetooth supported
    • Compatible assistants:Alexa, Google Assistant
    • Compatible apps:GHome, Smart Life, Tuya
    • Operating voltage:120 V
    • Wattage:1200 W
    • Dimensions:2.1 x 2.1 x 1.1 inches
    • Certifications:ETL, FCC
    Our verdict
    “Choose the GHome two-pack if app flexibility matters more than a higher wattage rating and you’re comfortable beginning setup in its app.”
  2. Syantek Wireless Remote Control Outlet Kit, 3 Outlets and 1 Remote

    Syantek Wireless Remote Control Outlet Kit, 3 Outlets and 1 Remote

    Best for Wi-Fi-Free Lamp Control

    View Latest Price

    The Syantek kit takes a different route from the Wi-Fi smart plugs here: its RF remote controls three outlets without app setup or a home network. That makes it a practical match for lamps in rooms where Wi-Fi access or voice assistants aren’t priorities. Its signal is specified to work through walls, doors, and windows, which can be more convenient than needing to point a remote directly at a lamp. Compared with the GHome Smart Plug two-pack, though, it doesn’t offer app-based scheduling, timers, or Alexa and Google Assistant control. The stated range is up to 100 feet line of sight, so I wouldn’t treat that as a guaranteed distance through every home. It’s also designed for indoor use. Pick it for straightforward remote switching, not connected-home automation.

    Pros:
    • Controls three outlets with one included remote.
    • RF signal can work through walls, doors, and windows.
    • Does not depend on Wi-Fi or app setup.
    • Programmable and expandable for additional outlets and remotes.
    Cons:
    • Does not provide app control, scheduling, or voice-assistant integration.
    • The stated range is up to 100 feet line of sight, not a guaranteed indoor range.
    • Designed for indoor use only.

    Best for: People who want to switch lamps on and off by remote without Wi-Fi, app setup, or a voice assistant.

    Not ideal for: Smart-home users who want phone control, voice commands, or lamp schedules and timers.

    • Outlets:3
    • Remotes:1
    • Range:Up to 100 ft line of sight
    • Voltage:120 V
    • Amperage:23 A
    • Material:ABS
    • Certifications:ETL and FCC listed
    • Model:BHC1801-3
    Our verdict
    “Choose Syantek for simple remote lamp switching without Wi-Fi, but pick the GHome or Kasa option if you want app or voice automation.”
  3. EIGHTREE Wi-Fi Smart Plug, 15A, 4-Pack

    EIGHTREE Wi-Fi Smart Plug, 15A, 4-Pack

    Best Four-Pack for SmartThings Homes

    View Latest Price

    For someone automating lamps in several rooms, the EIGHTREE four-pack pairs useful quantity with support for Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings. That SmartThings compatibility is its clearest distinction from the Govee four-pack, which lists Alexa and Google Assistant but not SmartThings. Schedules and timers can make lamps follow daily routines, and the 1800 W rating gives it a higher listed capacity than the GHome two-pack. The tradeoff is that setup for voice control runs through the Smart Life app, adding a step before the plugs are ready to use with an assistant. It also works on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only. I’d choose it for multi-room lamp automation in a SmartThings household, but buyers who want a simpler app ecosystem may prefer the Kasa two-pack.

    Pros:
    • Four plugs suit lamp automation across several rooms.
    • Supports Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings.
    • Timers and schedules support routine-based lamp control.
    • Listed at 1800 W and includes a two-year warranty.
    Cons:
    • Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only.
    • Voice control setup requires the Smart Life app.
    • Smart Life setup may be an extra step for buyers who prefer a different app.

    Best for: SmartThings households that want to automate lamps across multiple rooms using one four-plug set.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need 5 GHz Wi-Fi support or want to avoid setting up plugs through Smart Life.

    • Pack size:4
    • Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Compatible platforms:Alexa, Google Assistant, SmartThings
    • Setup app:Smart Life
    • Operating voltage:120 V
    • Wattage:1800 W
    • Dimensions:1.96 x 1.96 x 2.03 inches
    • Warranty:2 years
    Our verdict
    “Choose EIGHTREE if you want four lamp plugs with SmartThings support; choose Kasa if you’d rather use its Kasa or Tapo apps.”
  4. Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP10P2, 15A, 2-Pack

    Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP10P2, 15A, 2-Pack

    Best Overall for Everyday Lamp Automation

    View Latest Price

    I’d make the Kasa EP10P2 my everyday pick for lamps because its feature set covers the common jobs without requiring a hub: app control, Alexa and Google Assistant voice commands, schedules, timers, and Away Mode. That last feature gives it a useful role beyond a bedside routine, letting a lamp switch on and off while you’re away. The GHome two-pack supports more named apps, while EIGHTREE offers four plugs and SmartThings compatibility; Kasa counters with a clear Kasa or Tapo app path and a compact design that leaves the adjacent outlet available. Its 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi requirement remains a limitation, and the 15 A/1800 W ratings are not a reason to exceed the limits of a connected device. For ordinary household lamps, the balance is strong.

    Pros:
    • Compact form leaves the adjacent outlet available.
    • Works with Alexa and Google Assistant, with Kasa and Tapo app control.
    • Schedules, timers, and Away Mode support varied lamp routines.
    • UL certified and rated for up to 15 A and 1800 W.
    Cons:
    • Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connection.
    • Two plugs may not cover a home with lamps in several rooms.
    • Connected devices must stay within the 15 A and 1800 W limits.

    Best for: People who want two compact lamp plugs with schedules, voice control, and an Away Mode in the Kasa or Tapo app.

    Not ideal for: Buyers whose Wi-Fi network lacks 2.4 GHz or who need a multi-room four-pack rather than two plugs.

    • Package quantity:2 smart plugs
    • Maximum current:15 A
    • Maximum wattage:1800 W
    • Operating voltage:120 V AC
    • Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Hub required:No
    • Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
    • App control:Kasa Smart, Tapo
    • Certifications:UL, RoHS, FCC, IC
    Our verdict
    “Choose the Kasa EP10P2 for two compact, versatile lamp plugs; pick EIGHTREE instead if you need four plugs or SmartThings support.”
  5. Govee Smart WiFi Plugs, 4-Pack, Compatible with Alexa and Google Assistant

    Govee Smart WiFi Plugs, 4-Pack, Compatible with Alexa and Google Assistant

    Best for Grouping Lamps in the Govee App

    View Latest Price

    When several lamps need to follow the same routine, the Govee four-pack brings group control and schedules together in the Govee Home app. That makes it a natural fit for coordinated lighting across a living room or multiple bedrooms, while Bluetooth and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi give it two listed connection methods. Compared with the EIGHTREE four-pack, Govee does not list SmartThings compatibility, so it’s a narrower choice for homes built around that platform. The main caution is a mismatch in the supplied electrical details: the specifications list 11 A, while the description says 10 A. I’d verify the rating on the product documentation before connecting anything beyond a typical lamp. It also does not support 5 GHz Wi-Fi, and no hub is required.

    Pros:
    • Four plugs support lamp control in multiple rooms.
    • Govee Home offers schedules and group control.
    • Works with Alexa and Google Assistant.
    • Supports Bluetooth and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi without a hub.
    Cons:
    • Does not support 5 GHz Wi-Fi.
    • Product details conflict on amperage, listing both 11 A and 10 A.
    • SmartThings compatibility is not listed, unlike the EIGHTREE four-pack.

    Best for: Govee Home users who want to group several lamps and schedule them together through Alexa or Google Assistant.

    Not ideal for: SmartThings users or buyers who need an unambiguous amperage rating or 5 GHz Wi-Fi support.

    • Quantity:4 plugs
    • Model:B5081
    • Connectivity:Bluetooth and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; does not support 5 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
    • Amperage:11 A in specifications; 10 A in description
    • Plug type:Type B
    • Certifications:ETL, FCC
    • Hub required:No
    Our verdict
    “Choose Govee if group control in its app suits your lamp setup, but verify the amperage and skip it if you need SmartThings support.”
  6. GHome Smart Plug Mini, Wi-Fi, 4-Pack

    GHome Smart Plug Mini, Wi-Fi, 4-Pack

    Best Value for Multiple Lamps

    View Latest Price

    For automating several lamps without adding a hub, this four-pack covers more rooms than the single Kasa EP10 while keeping setup and control straightforward. Each plug supports app control, schedules, timers, and Alexa or Google Assistant voice commands, so a bedside lamp or living-room light can follow a routine or switch off by voice. Its 2 × 2 × 1-inch body is compact, though the supplied specs do not confirm whether it leaves a neighboring outlet clear. The tradeoff is a 1,200 W maximum, lower than the 1,800 W ratings of the Linkind Matter and Kasa HS103P4 options; that is ample for typical lamps, but a tighter limit for other connected equipment. Setup also starts in the GHome app, and the plug needs 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.

    Pros:
    • Four plugs make it practical to automate lamps in several rooms
    • Schedules, timers, and app control support recurring lighting routines
    • Works with Alexa and Google Assistant without a separate hub
    • Compact 2 × 2 × 1-inch dimensions suit lamp-side outlets
    Cons:
    • 1,200 W maximum is lower than the 1,800 W capacity of several alternatives
    • Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Must be configured in the GHome app before linking a voice assistant

    Best for: Households adding app and voice control to several standard lamps on a 2.4 GHz home network

    Not ideal for: Buyers who want Matter-platform flexibility, a documented 1,800 W capacity, or setup that skips the GHome app

    • Pack size:4 plugs
    • Wireless network:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Voice assistants:Alexa, Google Assistant
    • Hub required:No
    • Maximum power:1,200 W
    • Voltage:120 V
    • Dimensions:2 × 2 × 1 in
    • Certifications:ETL, FCC
    Our verdict
    “Choose this four-pack for straightforward control of several lamps, but pick a higher-capacity option if you need more than 1,200 W.”
  7. GHome Smart Plug, 4-Pack

    GHome Smart Plug, 4-Pack

    Best for Flexible App Choice

    View Latest Price

    This GHome four-pack suits lamp owners who want to choose among GHome, Smart Life, or Tuya for app-based control rather than being tied to one listed app. It also supports schedules, timers, device sharing, and Alexa or Google Home, making it easier for household members to manage shared lighting. Compared with the GHome Smart Plug Mini four-pack, the core capacity and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi requirement are similar; this model’s clearest distinction is its broader stated app compatibility and Bluetooth-or-Wi-Fi setup option. That flexibility comes with an app-first setup step before voice-assistant linking, so it is not the simplest route for someone who wants to configure lamps entirely through a voice platform. Its 1,200 W maximum also trails the 1,800 W Kasa HS103P4, though typical lamps rarely need that extra capacity.

    Pros:
    • Four plugs can cover lamps across multiple rooms
    • Supports GHome, Smart Life, and Tuya apps
    • Scheduling, timers, group control, and device sharing suit shared households
    • Alexa and Google Home compatibility with no hub required
    Cons:
    • 1,200 W maximum is below the 1,800 W capacity of the Kasa HS103P4 and Linkind Matter plug
    • Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi for operation
    • Voice-assistant linking follows setup through the GHome app

    Best for: Households that want four lamp plugs and the option to manage them through GHome, Smart Life, or Tuya

    Not ideal for: Buyers who want Matter support, a higher 1,800 W rating, or to avoid app-based setup before voice control

    • Pack size:4 plugs
    • Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; Bluetooth or Wi-Fi setup
    • App compatibility:GHome, Smart Life, Tuya
    • Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Home
    • Maximum wattage:1,200 W
    • Operating voltage:120 V
    • Hub required:No
    • Certifications:ETL, FCC
    Our verdict
    “Pick this GHome set if app choice and shared lamp control matter more than Matter support or a higher power limit.”
  8. Linkind Matter Smart Plug, 4-Pack

    Linkind Matter Smart Plug, 4-Pack

    Best for Matter Smart Homes

    View Latest Price

    If your lamps already belong to a mixed smart-home setup, the Linkind four-pack stands apart from the GHome and Kasa Wi-Fi plugs with Matter support across Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings. That broader platform reach can make lamp routines easier to manage alongside other brands, while local LAN control offers a way to communicate when internet access is unavailable. The catch is setup: most listed platforms need a Matter-certified hub or controller, and the plug also requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and IPv6. Its 1,800 W capacity is higher than the GHome WP3 plugs’ 1,200 W limit, but that extra headroom is rarely the deciding factor for a lamp. I would choose it for platform flexibility, not for the simplest plug-in-and-go setup.

    Pros:
    • Matter support spans several major smart-home platforms
    • Local LAN communication can preserve control when internet access is unavailable
    • 1,800 W capacity exceeds the GHome WP3 plugs’ 1,200 W rating
    • Includes short-circuit and overload protection
    Cons:
    • Most supported platforms require a Matter-certified hub or controller
    • Requires both 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and IPv6
    • Matter features may be unnecessary for buyers who only need basic lamp schedules

    Best for: People with a Matter-capable Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, or SmartThings setup who want lamp control across platforms

    Not ideal for: Buyers without a Matter hub or controller who want the least involved setup, or anyone whose network lacks 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and IPv6

    • Pack size:4 plugs
    • Smart-home standard:Matter
    • Wi-Fi:2.4 GHz
    • Power capacity:1,800 W
    • Amperage:15 A
    • Plug type:Type A
    • Hub requirement:Matter-certified hub required for most platforms; AiDot can work without a hub
    • Certifications:FCC, ETL
    Our verdict
    “Choose Linkind when cross-platform Matter control is worth the extra setup requirements; for basic lamp routines, a hub-free Kasa or GHome plug is simpler.”
  9. Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP10, 15A

    Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP10, 15A

    Best Single-Plug Pick

    View Latest Price

    For one lamp that needs dependable scheduling rather than a multi-room rollout, the Kasa EP10 is the most focused choice here. Its compact body leaves the neighboring outlet accessible, a useful detail behind a nightstand or sofa where space is limited. The Kasa or Tapo app, voice-assistant support, schedules, timers, and Away Mode cover both routine lighting and the option to make a home look occupied. Unlike the four-packs from GHome and Kasa, this package includes just one plug, so it is a better fit for a targeted setup than outfitting several rooms. It also matches the Linkind plug’s 1,800 W maximum without requiring a Matter hub, but it remains limited to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and lacks Linkind’s cross-platform Matter support.

    Pros:
    • Compact design leaves the neighboring outlet accessible
    • Schedules, timers, and Away Mode support everyday and away-from-home lamp routines
    • Works with the Kasa or Tapo app and voice assistants
    • 1,800 W maximum and no hub required
    Cons:
    • Package contains one plug, unlike the GHome and Kasa four-packs
    • Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Does not offer the Linkind plug’s Matter-based platform flexibility

    Best for: A renter or homeowner who wants to automate one bedside, desk, or living-room lamp without blocking the second outlet

    Not ideal for: People outfitting several lamps at once, or buyers who need Matter support or a plug for a 5 GHz-only network

    • Model:EP10
    • Package contents:1 smart plug
    • Maximum current:15 A
    • Maximum wattage:1,800 W
    • Operating voltage:120 V AC
    • Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
    • Certifications:UL, RoHS, FCC, IC
    Our verdict
    “Choose the EP10 for one space-saving lamp plug with useful Away Mode; choose a four-pack if you are automating several rooms.”
  10. Kasa Smart Plug HS103P4, 4-Pack, 15A Wi-Fi Outlet

    Kasa Smart Plug HS103P4, 4-Pack, 15A Wi-Fi Outlet

    Best Four-Pack for Higher Capacity

    View Latest Price

    The Kasa HS103P4 is a strong fit when you want to automate several lamps with a 1,800 W maximum per plug and a straightforward hub-free setup. It supports control through the Kasa app or Alexa and Google Assistant, plus schedules and timers for repeatable lighting routines. Compared with the GHome WP3 four-packs, its stated wattage is higher, while the GHome options offer broader named app choices on one model and a smaller listed body on the other. For ordinary lamps, the extra capacity is unlikely to change daily use; the more practical reason to choose Kasa is a four-plug bundle backed by a familiar app and UL certification. The tradeoff is a 2.4 GHz-only connection, and the listed dimensions do not establish whether a neighboring outlet stays free.

    Pros:
    • Four plugs provide broad lamp coverage around the home
    • 1,800 W rating is higher than the GHome WP3 four-packs’ 1,200 W limit
    • Kasa app, Alexa, and Google Assistant provide several control routes
    • Schedules and timers work without a separate hub
    Cons:
    • Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • No Matter support is listed, unlike the Linkind four-pack
    • Provided dimensions do not confirm that an adjacent outlet remains accessible

    Best for: Households adding scheduled or voice-controlled lighting in several rooms that prefer the Kasa app and want a 1,800 W rating

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need Matter support, a 5 GHz connection, or confirmed outlet clearance beside each plug

    • Model:HS103P4
    • Pack size:4 plugs
    • Operating voltage:120 V AC
    • Wattage:1,800 W
    • Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
    • Dimensions:1.57 × 1.5 × 2.62 in
    • Safety certification:UL certified
    • Warranty:2 years
    Our verdict
    “Choose the Kasa HS103P4 for four hub-free lamp plugs with a higher capacity rating; skip it if Matter or verified outlet clearance is a priority.”
  11. Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP10P4, 4-Pack

    Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP10P4, 4-Pack

    Best for Multi-Room Lamp Setups

    View Latest Price

    For outfitting several lamps across a home, this four-pack combines broad assistant support with useful everyday scheduling. The compact plugs are designed to leave the neighboring outlet free, while Away Mode, timers, and schedules can automate lamps without relying on manual switches. Unlike the Alexa-only Amazon Basics four-pack, the EP10P4 also works with Google Assistant and Samsung SmartThings, making it a better fit for households with mixed smart-home platforms. It connects directly to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, so there is no hub to add, but setup and control depend on the Kasa or Tapo app. The listed 15 A rating suits many lamps, though this capacity may be more than a simple bedside-light setup needs. Skip it if your Wi-Fi is 5 GHz only or you want a plug that works outside its app ecosystem.

    Pros:
    • Four plugs make it practical to automate lamps in multiple rooms
    • Compact design leaves the adjacent outlet available
    • Works with Alexa, Google Assistant, and Samsung SmartThings
    • Schedules, timers, and Away Mode support hands-off lighting routines
    Cons:
    • Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network
    • Setup and app control require Kasa or Tapo
    • A four-plug set may be more than needed for one or two lamps

    Best for: Households automating several lamps that want Alexa, Google Assistant, or Samsung SmartThings compatibility

    Not ideal for: People with only a 5 GHz Wi-Fi network or anyone who wants to avoid using the Kasa or Tapo app

    • Model:EP10P4
    • Pack size:4 plugs
    • Maximum current:15 A
    • Maximum wattage:1800 W
    • Operating voltage:120 V
    • Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Hub required:No
    • Compatibility:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, Samsung SmartThings
    • Warranty:2 years
    Our verdict
    “Choose the EP10P4 to schedule lamps across several rooms while keeping more voice-assistant options than the Alexa-only Amazon Basics four-pack.”
  12. Amazon Basics Smart Plug with Timer and Alexa Voice Control, 2-Pack

    Amazon Basics Smart Plug with Timer and Alexa Voice Control, 2-Pack

    Best Value for Alexa Lamp Pairs

    View Latest Price

    This two-pack suits an Alexa household that wants to automate a pair of lamps without adding another app or hub. Setup and control stay in the Alexa app, and routines can use schedules or sunrise and sunset timing, which is handy for living-room lamps that should follow the day. Compared with the four-plug Kasa EP10P4, this set covers fewer outlets and lacks Google Assistant and SmartThings support, but its simpler Alexa-only setup may be preferable if that is already the system you use. The compact form is intended to leave the adjacent outlet open. The main tradeoff is platform lock-in: these plugs are Alexa only, and they require 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. Product data does not specify a maximum load, so buyers should check suitability for their intended device rather than assume a rating.

    Pros:
    • Two plugs suit a pair of lamps without buying a larger set
    • Alexa app handles setup and remote control without a separate app
    • Supports schedules and sunrise or sunset routines
    • Compact design leaves the neighboring outlet available
    Cons:
    • Works with Alexa only
    • Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Provided product data does not state a maximum current or wattage

    Best for: Alexa users who want to automate two bedside or living-room lamps through the Alexa app

    Not ideal for: Households using Google Assistant or SmartThings, or buyers who need a stated load rating before choosing a plug

    • Quantity:2 smart plugs
    • Model:HPP-A11S-WB-2P
    • Wi-Fi:2.4 GHz
    • Compatibility:Alexa only
    • Hub required:No
    • Plug type:Type A
    • Material:Plastic
    • Color:White
    Our verdict
    “Pick this two-pack for straightforward Alexa-based scheduling of a couple of lamps, but choose the Kasa EP10P4 if you need broader assistant compatibility or more plugs.”
  13. Amazon Basics Smart Plug, Alexa-Compatible, 4-Pack, White

    Amazon Basics Smart Plug, Alexa-Compatible, 4-Pack, White

    Best Alexa-Only Four-Pack

    View Latest Price

    This set is a practical match for Alexa users who want to bring several lamps onto one scheduling system. Four plugs and no hub make it easy to cover multiple rooms, while the Alexa app supports remote control, voice commands, set schedules, and sunrise or sunset routines. Compared with the Amazon Basics two-pack, this version is better suited to a whole-home lamp refresh; compared with the Kasa EP10P4, it gives up Google Assistant and SmartThings compatibility. Its compact dimensions are intended to leave an adjacent outlet free, a useful detail where a lamp shares a wall plate with another device. The tradeoff is clear: Alexa-only control limits flexibility if your smart-home platform changes, and the listed warranty is one year. It also requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.

    Pros:
    • Four plugs cover multiple lamps around the home
    • Alexa app supports remote control, voice commands, and routines
    • Sunrise and sunset scheduling can align lamp use with daylight
    • Compact design leaves adjacent outlet space available
    Cons:
    • Works with Alexa only
    • Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Includes a 1-year limited warranty

    Best for: Alexa households automating lamps in several rooms that prefer managing routines in one app

    Not ideal for: Buyers who use Google Assistant or SmartThings, or who want a longer stated warranty

    • Pack size:4 plugs
    • Compatibility:Alexa only
    • Wi-Fi:2.4 GHz
    • Hub required:No
    • Amperage:15 A
    • Dimensions:2.7 × 2.1 × 1.5 in
    • Weight:2.4 oz
    • Warranty:1-year limited
    Our verdict
    “Choose this set over the Amazon Basics two-pack when you need four Alexa-controlled lamp outlets, and choose the Kasa EP10P4 if you need other assistant platforms.”
  14. GHome Smart Plug with Wi-Fi and Bluetooth

    GHome Smart Plug with Wi-Fi and Bluetooth

    Best for Flexible App and Setup Options

    View Latest Price

    The GHome WP3 stands apart for lamp owners who want a choice of control apps and both Wi-Fi and Bluetooth connectivity. It supports Alexa and Google Assistant, while GHome, Smart Life, and Tuya provide several app routes for schedules, timers, and grouped control. That flexibility is broader than the Alexa-only Amazon Basics plugs, though it comes with a more involved setup: the plug must first be configured in the GHome app before connecting to Alexa or Google Home. Bluetooth adds another connection option, but the product data does not describe it as a replacement for Wi-Fi remote control. Its stated 1200 W maximum is lower than the 1800 W listed for the Kasa EP10P4, so check the load before connecting anything beyond an ordinary lamp. It needs 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and does not include a hub.

    Pros:
    • Supports Alexa and Google Assistant
    • Works with GHome, Smart Life, and Tuya apps
    • Schedules, timers, and group control can coordinate lamps
    • Wi-Fi and Bluetooth connectivity with no hub required
    Cons:
    • Must be set up through the GHome app before linking a voice assistant
    • Maximum listed wattage is 1200 W, below the Kasa EP10P4’s 1800 W
    • Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network

    Best for: Smart-home users who want Alexa or Google Assistant support plus a choice of compatible control apps

    Not ideal for: Buyers seeking the highest listed load capacity or a setup that skips an initial app configuration

    • Model:WP3
    • Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
    • Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant
    • App compatibility:GHome, Smart Life, and Tuya
    • Operating voltage:120 V
    • Wattage:1200 W
    • Dimensions:2.1 × 2.1 × 1.1 in
    • Certifications:ETL, FCC
    Our verdict
    “Pick the WP3 if app choice and Alexa or Google Assistant support matter more than a simple first-time setup or the higher stated load of the Kasa EP10P4.”
  15. Amazon Smart Plug

    Amazon Smart Plug

    Best for a Single Alexa-Controlled Lamp

    View Latest Price

    For someone adding one lamp to an Alexa setup, this single-plug option keeps control inside the Alexa app and avoids a separate hub. You can use voice commands, routines, and schedules, while the plug is designed to leave the second outlet available. Unlike the Amazon Basics two-pack, this is a single-socket plug, so it makes more sense for one targeted lamp than outfitting several rooms. It also automatically reconnects to Alexa after power or Wi-Fi outages, a practical benefit for a lamp expected to follow recurring routines. The limitations are just as direct: it works only with Alexa, supports 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and is for indoor use. Its listed 3.2-inch dimension may also make it less unobtrusive than smaller compact plugs such as the GHome WP3.

    Pros:
    • Alexa app supports voice control, routines, timers, and schedules
    • No smart-home hub required
    • Designed to leave the second outlet available
    • Automatically reconnects to Alexa after power or Wi-Fi outages
    Cons:
    • Works only with Alexa
    • Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Indoor use only and sold as a single plug

    Best for: Alexa users who want to automate one indoor lamp and keep setup, voice control, and routines in the Alexa app

    Not ideal for: People who need Google Assistant or smart-hub support, want multiple plugs in one set, or plan to use the plug outdoors

    • Input:120 VAC, 60 Hz, 15 A max
    • Maximum output:15 A
    • Wi-Fi:2.4 GHz, 802.11 b/g/n
    • Compatibility:Alexa; Fire OS, Android, and iOS Alexa app
    • Use:Indoor
    • Dimensions:3.2 × 1.5 × 2.2 in
    • Weight:3.1 oz
    • Warranty:1-year limited
    Our verdict
    “Choose this plug for one Alexa-controlled indoor lamp; opt for the Amazon Basics two-pack if you want to automate a pair of lamps.”
smart plugs for lamps
What makes a great smart plugs for lamp
1
Match the Plug to Your Smart-Home Setup
Start with the voice assistant or smart-home platform you already use, rather than assuming every plug works with every system.
2
Check Lamp Controls Before Adding Smart Control
A smart plug can only cut or restore power to a lamp; it cannot operate a lamp’s physical switch if that switch is left off.
3
Choose Pack Size Around Room Layout
A two-pack is often enough for a pair of bedside lamps, while a four-pack can be more convenient for several rooms.
4
Measure Clearance Around Crowded Outlets
Plug dimensions matter when an outlet sits behind a nightstand, sofa, or narrow lamp base.
How to choose your smart plugs for lamp
1
How we picked
I ranked these plugs around the tasks lamp owners actually need: reliable on/off control, convenient schedules and timer
2
Match the Plug to Your Smart-Home Setup
Start with the voice assistant or smart-home platform you already use, rather than assuming every plug works with every
3
Check Lamp Controls Before Adding Smart Control
A smart plug can only cut or restore power to a lamp; it cannot operate a lamp’s physical switch if that switch is left
4
Choose Pack Size Around Room Layout
A two-pack is often enough for a pair of bedside lamps, while a four-pack can be more convenient for several rooms.
5
Measure Clearance Around Crowded Outlets
Plug dimensions matter when an outlet sits behind a nightstand, sofa, or narrow lamp base.
Vetted smart plugs for lamps ·
The best smart plugs for lamps, compared
★ Winner Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP1
Best Overall for Everyday Lamp Automation
15compared
4certifications

How We Picked

I ranked these plugs around the tasks lamp owners actually need: reliable on/off control, convenient schedules and timers where offered, straightforward setup, and a form factor that won’t needlessly crowd nearby outlets. I also compared smart-home compatibility, pack size, and the distinction between connected Wi-Fi control and a basic handheld remote. A plug’s stated electrical capacity matters, but a lamp buyer should still check the plug and lamp ratings rather than assuming every device is suitable for every load.

The ranking favors options that combine practical lamp control with a useful balance of usability and flexibility. The Kasa EP10P2 leads as a compact, broadly useful starting point; Linkind ranks highly for buyers who value Matter support, and simpler Alexa-focused picks suit homes already committed to Amazon’s ecosystem. Multipacks rank well for outfitting multiple lamps, while options with narrower controls or less connected functionality rank lower for buyers seeking app-based routines. Product names and listed features guide these comparisons; I do not claim hands-on testing or performance results that are not specified.

Everyday → specialist
Everyday & valuePremium & specialist
Which smart plugs for lamp fits you?
The everyday user
All-round, reliable
The enthusiast
Premium & high-performance
The gift-giver
Looks & craftsmanship

Factors to Consider When Choosing Smart Plugs For Lamps

Choosing a lamp plug is less about maximum features and more about matching the plug to your room, routines, and existing smart-home setup. These factors can prevent common mismatches before you buy.

Match the Plug to Your Smart-Home Setup

Start with the voice assistant or smart-home platform you already use, rather than assuming every plug works with every system. Alexa-focused models can be a tidy fit for an Alexa household, but they may be a poor choice if you expect to add another platform later. Matter support can offer more flexibility across compatible ecosystems, though the devices and controller you use still need to support the relevant setup. Check the exact product listing for supported assistants and any hub or app requirements. A plug that matches your current system can be simpler than paying for flexibility you may never use.

Check Lamp Controls Before Adding Smart Control

A smart plug can only cut or restore power to a lamp; it cannot operate a lamp’s physical switch if that switch is left off. Before buying, set the lamp’s switch to its on position and confirm it returns to that state when power is restored. Touch controls, dimmers, and lamps with electronic settings may behave differently from a basic switched lamp. Smart plugs generally provide on/off control, not dimming, so a dimmable bulb does not automatically make the plug a dimmer. If you want adjustable brightness, choose a compatible smart bulb or a dimming system instead.

Choose Pack Size Around Room Layout

A two-pack is often enough for a pair of bedside lamps, while a four-pack can be more convenient for several rooms. Multipacks also reduce the chance of ending up with different apps and control methods across lamps. Still, count outlets before buying: a larger pack is not useful if plugs will block neighboring sockets or sit unused in a drawer. For a single reading lamp, a one-plug option avoids buying extras; for a coordinated group, a matching pack can make schedules easier to manage. Plan around the locations of outlets, not just the number of lamps.

Measure Clearance Around Crowded Outlets

Plug dimensions matter when an outlet sits behind a nightstand, sofa, or narrow lamp base. A compact model is less likely to cover the second receptacle, though the outlet’s orientation and the shape of the wall adapter also affect fit. Check product dimensions when available and compare them with nearby plugs or furniture clearance. Avoid stacking adapters or forcing a plug into a tight space, since that can strain the outlet or cord. If two lamps share one outlet, a multi-outlet approach may suit the room better than two bulky individual plugs.

Decide Whether You Need Wi-Fi or a Remote

Wi-Fi plugs are useful when you want app control, voice commands, or routines that can operate when you are away, subject to the model’s requirements. A remote-control outlet kit offers a simpler alternative for people who want to switch lamps from across a room without configuring an app. The remote approach can be appealing for guests or people who prefer physical controls, but it does not provide the same connected features. Check whether the Wi-Fi plug requires a particular network band or account setup before purchasing. Choose based on how you expect to control the lamp, not on the word “smart” alone.

Treat Timers and Schedules as Separate Needs

Timers, recurring schedules, and voice control solve different problems, so identify which one you will use most. A schedule can switch a lamp at set times each day, while a timer is better for a one-off interval; remote switching may be enough when routines are unnecessary. For a lamp used to make a home look occupied, review whether the app supports the scheduling pattern you want rather than assuming every smart plug behaves the same way. Also check what happens after a power or network interruption if keeping a routine matters to you. Paying for extra features has little value if the plug’s controls do not match your routine.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I use a smart plug with a lamp that has a dimmer?

Usually, a smart plug controls power on or off and does not adjust brightness. A lamp with a built-in dimmer may not restart in the state you expect after power is cut, so check the lamp maker’s guidance before pairing it with a plug. If brightness control is your goal, a compatible smart bulb or dimmer is a better fit. For a basic lamp with a standard on/off switch, a smart plug is typically the more direct option. Keep the lamp’s own switch on when you want app or voice control to work.

Should I choose Matter or a plug made for Alexa?

Choose based on the platform you use today and whether you expect that to change. A dedicated Alexa option can be simple if your household uses Alexa exclusively and does not need other integrations. Matter support may be more appealing if you use, or plan to use, multiple compatible smart-home platforms. It does not remove the need to check device and controller compatibility, so confirm the supported setup before buying. If cross-platform flexibility is not a priority, a focused plug may be the less complicated choice.

Will a smart plug work if my lamp’s switch is turned off?

No: the smart plug can restore power to the lamp, but it cannot bypass a lamp switch that has physically interrupted the circuit. Leave the lamp switched on and use the plug for everyday control. Lamps with touch buttons or electronic controls can behave differently after a power interruption, so check their instructions first. If the lamp does not resume lighting when power returns, a smart bulb or a lamp designed for smart control may suit you better. This check can save you from buying a plug that cannot control the lamp as you expect.

Is a four-pack a better choice than buying one or two plugs?

A four-pack is a sensible choice when you already have several lamps to control or expect to add more soon. It can give multiple rooms the same app and control experience, but only if the plugs fit the outlets where you plan to use them. For one lamp, a single plug avoids paying for hardware you may not need; for two bedside lamps, a two-pack may be the more practical match. Think about outlet spacing as well as lamp count, since larger plugs can interfere with neighboring sockets. Pack size should follow your room plan, not just the number of plugs in the box.

When is a remote-control outlet kit a better lamp choice than Wi-Fi?

A remote kit is a better fit when you want a physical button to switch lamps from across a room and do not need app access or voice commands. It can also avoid Wi-Fi setup, accounts, and smart-home compatibility checks. A Wi-Fi plug makes more sense when you want schedules, control from an app, or voice-assistant integration. The Syantek kit’s three outlets and remote serve a different need from the app-connected plugs in this roundup, rather than offering the same feature set. Pick the control method that people in the home will actually use.

Conclusion

For most lamp owners, I’d start with the Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini EP10P2: it is my best overall choice for compact everyday control. For best value across several lamps, compare the four-packs from EIGHTREE, Govee, GHome, and Kasa against the assistant support you need rather than choosing by pack size alone. The Linkind Matter Smart Plug is my best premium-style pick for platform flexibility, while the Amazon Smart Plug is the best beginner choice for an Alexa-centered home. If you want a handheld controller without app setup, choose the Syantek Wireless Remote Control Outlet Kit; if you want a plug tied closely to Alexa, consider Amazon Basics. Match the plug to your lamp’s switch, outlet clearance, and control habits, and the right choice should become clear.

You May Also Like

12 Best Smart Home Energy Monitors in 2026

Discover the top smart home energy monitors for 2026. Find the best overall, budget-friendly, and advanced options to optimize your energy use.

13 Best Programmable Home Appliance Timers in 2026

Discover the top programmable home appliance timers of 2026. Find the best options for indoor, outdoor, budget, and advanced needs in this comprehensive guide.

5 Best 6 Outlet Outdoor Power Stakes With Timers In 2026

Discover the best outdoor power stakes with timers in 2026. Our top picks include weatherproof, programmable, and easy-to-use options for every need.

9 Best In-Wall Timer Switches in 2026

Discover the best in-wall timer switches of 2026. Our guide highlights top picks for versatility, ease of use, and value to suit every home need.